Seven Flyers Make Belleville News-Democrat All-Area First Team

Categories: Sports
Jennifer Silverberg
Lamontiez Ivy was named all-area first-team quarteback. Jeremy Nicholson was named first-team punter and honorable mention running back and kicker.
Today, the Belleville News-Democrat released their all-area football teams. The East St. Louis Senior High Flyers, whom we covered in a feature story a few weeks ago, led the pack for the 5A-8A squad with seven first team players-- two on offense and five on defense.

Thirteen Flyers took up fifteen slots on the first-team, second team, and honorable mention list. Only O'Fallon, who finished the season as co-Southwestern Conference champions with East Side, had more with a total of seventeen slots.

Senior captain Lamontiez Ivy was named first-team quarterback. His fellow senior captain Jeremy Nicholson (the player on the cover of that RFT issue), was recognized at three different positions: first-team punter, and honorable mention running back and kicker.

Here the whole list of Flyers:

First Team
QB - Lamontiez Ivy, sr.
OL - Demarvious Loving, jr.
DL - Charles Bell, sr. DL - Hershall Molton, sr.
LB - Jeremy Rivers, sr.
DB - Isaiah Doss, sr.
P - Jeremy Nicholson, sr.

Second Team
RB - Natreace Strong, so.
WR - Tamiji Jackson, jr.
LB - Marvin Holley, sr.

Honorable Mentions
RB - Nicholson
WR - Daniel Williams, jr.
OL - Gerald Bradford, sr.
K - Nicholson
DB - Demetrius Jones, sr.

All-in-all it was a good haul for the Southwestern Conference, as Edwardsville had ten slots and Belleville East and Granite City had nine each. O'Fallon's Brandon Joggerst was awarded coach of the year and his senior running back Ejay Johnson took player of the year.

Sponsor Content

Now Trending

From the Vault