What Dangers Lurk Within...Jelly Beans?

jelly_bean_cat.jpg
www.icanhascheezburger.com
No word on whether the cat was allergic to shellfish.
Gimbal's Fine Candies is on a mission to make Easter baskets safe for kiddos. How does the venerable sweets maker propose to protect children from unseen dangers hidden in the candy cornucopia?

With allergen-free Gourmet Jelly Beans, of course!

According to the Centers for Disease Control, about 3 million children in the U.S. have food allergies, and it's "becoming more common over time" -- between 1997 and 2007, the food-allergy rate among children rose 18 percent. Ninety percent of these allergies are caused by the "Big 8 Allergens": milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, soy and gluten.

According to a Gimbal's press release, none of the company's confections -- including all 41 jelly bean flavors -- contains any trace of the Big 8. In addition, Gimbal's assures us, the Easter favorites are trans fat-free, gelatin-free and kosher (it's all about how the jelly bean was butchered).

Gimbals_Jelly_Beans.jpg
Katie Moulton
Gimbal's j.b.'s come in 41 flavors and 0 allergens.
All these pronouncements made Gut Check wonder: How likely is it that one would encounter a jelly bean laced with peanuts or shellfish or the meat of a cloven-hoofed animal? Just because we've never seen a Crawfish Pie Jelly Belly, or a bacon one, for that matter, doesn't mean they ain't out there.

Speaking of Jelly Belly, it is, like Gimbal's, based in California. Gimbal's is older, though. Way older. Whereas Jelly Belly was founded in 1976 (in Hollywood), Gimbal's debuted in 1898 (in San Francisco).

When it comes down to beans, the two confectioners offer a strikingly similar concept: a vast -- and occasionally surprising -- range of flavors, many of which imitate "real" foods (think "pink grapefruit" and "buttered popcorn"). Yet it's comparative whippersnapper Jelly Belly -- favorite of Ronald Reagan, the first jelly bean in outer space, blah, blah, blah -- that hogs the spotlight. And, adding insult to injury, the younger company claims to be "the Original Gourmet Jelly Bean."

This assertion appears to be accurate, as it is unclear when Gimbal's began producing jelly beans. Its first products were nickel candy bars, penny goods, jellies and creams, and the company started making its famous All Natural Licorice Scottie Dogs in 1904.

According to Candyman: The David Klein Story, the candy inventor of the title and creator of the Jelly Belly brand revolutionized the jelly bean by introducing distinctive natural flavoring and by flavoring the inside of the jelly bean in addition to the outside. Yes, children, your antediluvian jelly bean was flavored and colored on the outer shell only. Inside was a plain pectin, which the naturally derived thickener that causes jelly to jell.

Klein also introduced the concept of a "gourmet" jelly bean -- the highest-priced jelly bean in the world, in fact. And yet it sold then and has kept on selling.

So now Gimbal's, the wallflower, attempts to set itself apart with its absence of allergens, hoping to put a chink in Jelly Belly's armor.

But how does Jelly Belly actually score in the allergen game? Well, first off, that armor: Jelly Belly beans are made with beeswax, not gelatin.

The company used to produce a Peanut Butter flavor, and a 2008 statement reveals that because Jelly Belly uses the same equipment to produce all its jelly beans, it couldn't guarantee that other flavors didn't contain traces of peanut. In 2009 the company had to recall some of its packages, which did not contain a warning that peanuts might lurk within.

That same year Jelly Belly discontinued the Peanut Butter flavor and does not use peanuts in any of its manufacturing plants.

In fact, a company spokeswoman confirms that all Jelly Belly beans contain no animal products, are dairy-free, egg-free, gelatin-free, gluten-free and there's definitely "no fish at all in our factory."

Heck, vegans can eat 'em, provided they don't have a problem with beeswax.

Coming soon to Fight Club Sandwich: A Gimbal's-Jelly Belly throwdown!


Advertisement

My Voice Nation Help
3 comments
Mr. Jelly Belly
Mr. Jelly Belly

Hi Katie,Just a few sweet corrections from us at Jelly Belly. While the first Jelly Belly beans came out in 1976, the family who owns and operates this firm has been making candy since 1869 and was known for decades for candy corn. We began making jelly beans in the 1960s. Also, Mr. Klein did not come up with the flavoring inside the center revolution, as that was our signature and introduced in those 1960s jelly beans, a full decade before a Jelly Belly bean.

Many shiny candies use beeswax in the finishing, but that has no relationship to gelatin ingredients--think you might have the processes mixed up.

Finally we are a peanut-free manufacturer these days and you will find that on the packages. Take care and we're looking forward to the throwdown--a little suggestion: Pace yourself!Jelly Belly

Mike N.
Mike N.

TL/DR, but do any kids actually like jelly beans? I always thought they were nasty when I was a kid. But of course, they weren't "gourmet".

LNConsultant
LNConsultant

Vegans can eat them provided they have no sugar. White sugar is made with bone char so not sure if these jelly beans are vegan.

Now Trending

From the Vault

 

Loading...